Legislative Fact Sheet - Statutory Rule Against Perpetuities

Act Statutory Rule Against Perpetuities
Origin Completed by the Uniform Law Commissioners in 1986, and amended in 1990 by adding Section 1(e).
Description This act invalidates interests in property that are intended to belong to somebody at a future time, but for which the actual determination of ownership cannot or will not be accomplished within a specific period of time.

(Approved by the House of Delegates of American Bar Association, on unanimous recommendation of the Council of the ABA, Section of Real Property, Probate and Trust Law, Board of Regents of American College of Trust and Estate Counsel, Board of Governors of American College of Real Estate Lawyers)

Enactments Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Indiana, Kansas, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oregon, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, U.S. Virgin Islands, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia
2018 Introductions
Staff Liaison(s) Benjamin Orzeske